Sunday, November 19, 2017



EcoTourism in Brookhaven Town


EcoTourism in Brookhaven Town







Town of Brookhaven
One Independence Hill
Farmingville, NY 11738
Visit Town Web Site
Email Us

Museums and Exhibits in Brookhaven
Brookhaven museums offer unique collections, objects and memorabilia not seen anywhere else. Museum visitors will delight in the array of subject matter and the historical significance of the items.


Bellport-Brookhaven Historical Society
31 Bellport Lane, Bellport - Voice mail 631-776-7640

Founded in 1958, the Bellport-Brookhaven Historical Society is a not-for-profit local organization devoted to the preservation and interpretation of Long Island's past, in particular with the history of the Bellport, Brookhaven, East Patchogue area.

The Society’s property includes a museum, a historic house with its ancillary structures, museum collections and gallery exhibitions, educational programs, outreach to the community, and publication of studies on local history and material culture. Seeking to provide knowledge and insight into the cultural inheritance of the area, the Society is a resource encouraging and assisting individuals, the public sector, and private organizations concerned with historic preservation. Visit Visit Museum's Web Site

Brookhaven National Laboratory Science Museum
William Floyd Parkway, Upton - (631) 344- 4720

The Brookhaven National Laboratory Science Museum offers free programs to students in the first grade through eighth grade. The programs focus on the physical sciences and utilize the inquiry method of teaching.

The museum is opened to Scouts, Enrichment Programs, Science Clubs & Camps during school vacations. Reservations are required.


Brookhaven Volunteer Firefighters Museum
Located at Fireman’s Memorial Park , Route 25 (Middle Country Rd.), Ridge
A museum dedicated to displaying historic equipment and memorabilia collected from Long Island’s volunteer fire departments. Visit Museum's Web Site

The Long Island Museum of Art, History and Carriages

1200 Route 25A, Stony Brook - (631) 751-0066

The richness of America’s cultural heritage is alive and well at The Long Island Museum of Art, History and Carriages. The Museum is dedicated to inspiring people of all ages with an understanding and enjoyment of American life as expressed through the heritage of Long Island and its diverse communities.

The museum’s permanent collection numbers over 40,000 items dating from the late 1700s to the present, including American artifacts of everyday life, works of art and nearly 200 historic carriages.  

The Museum’s art collection contains more than 4000 paintings, sculptures and prints dating from the early 1800s to the present, including the largest collection of works by renowned genre artist and Stony Brook resident, William Sidney Mount.

The Museum houses a collection of more than 200 horse-drawn carriages, widely recognized as the finest in the United States. Visit Museum's Web Site



Maritime Explorium
101 East Broadway Port Jefferson  - (631) 331-3277

The Maritime Explorium was founded in 2003 to fill the need for an educational and cultural resource in central Suffolk County, and, specifically, to establish a hands-on learning experience for families with children of all ages.

Families exploring the fun and interactive hands-on exhibits at the Maritime Explorium at Port Jefferson will enjoy the excitement of scientific discovery, develop a broadened cultural awareness and experience a sense of artistry while learning about Long Island's rich and varied maritime heritage.  Visit Museum's Web Site



Stony Brook Grist MillStony Brook Grist Mill
Harbor Road off Main Street, Stony Brook-(631)751-2244.

Long Island's most completely equipped working Grist Mill, the Stony Brook Grist Mill is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. In earlier times the mill was the center of community life. People exchanged news and gossip as they waited for the miller to grind their grain. In the 19th century Alois Kopriva played the violin, entertaining his guests with gypsy music. Kopriva was also an advocate for women's right to vote.

As recently as the 1940's, farmers still brought their wheat and corn to be ground at the mill. Miller Schaeffer ground natural wheat at the mill and shipped his "health food" to customers in 42 states.
       
The Stony Brook Grist Mill was acquired by philanthropist Ward Melville in 1947. He subsequently deeded it to the Ward Melville Heritage Organization which now owns and operates the mill.

The mill is the site of WMHO's "Dusty Program," a field trip that serves thousands of students annually, and is open to the public from April to December.

Suffolk County Police Museum
The John L. Barry Suffolk County Police Headquarters, 30 Yaphank Avenue, Yaphank - For Group Tours call: (631) 852-6011

The Police Museum traces the evolution of policing in Suffolk from the 16th century Sheriff to the present day law enforcement professional.  Featured are:  interpretive displays such as the 1925 station house, Constable Miller's 1915 Traffic Booth, the old Riverhead Jail and a talking 1960 Police Car and Police Booth depicting the first year of operations of the County Police. There is even a real police motorcycle that youngsters (and oldsters too!) can climb aboard wearing a police jacket and helmet to get the "feel" of what it's like to be a motorcycle police officer!  Visitors can get their picture taken while red lights are flashing or the siren is wailing! Visit Museum's Web Site

Suffolk Sports Hall of FameSuffolk Sports Hall of Fame
58 S Ocean Ave, Patchogue - 631-758-7463

The Suffolk Sports Hall Of Fame (SSHOF) is a Not-For-Profit Organization established in 1990 to honor outstanding persons, living or deceased, who have gained prominence and have made substantial contributions on behalf of themselves and Suffolk County, in the fields of professional and amateur sports.
Located in Patchogue, the Hall features a variety of sports memorabilia, individual sports displays, interactive exhibits, and a coaches’ theater, which shows sport-themed movies to groups with reservations.

The Hall accepts nominations for candidates annually and holds an inductee ceremony for selected candidates. Visit Hall of Fame's Web Site

Swan River Schoolhouse Museum
31 Roe Ave. East Patchogue - 631-475- 7871

Original 1858 schoolhouse, now a mini-museum featuring displays of children's items and area memorabilia.
Tours by Appointment.